Bealtaine 2011

May 13, 2011

The Clyne Gallery / Bealtaine 2011

I was delighted to be part of this year’s Bealtaine, Ireland’s festival celebrating creativity in older age. I was given the opportunity to exhibit Wearing Purple in the Clyne Gallery on Upper Exchange St in Dublin’s Temple Bar. For this exhibition, I wanted to take some of the work that has so far been confined to a one-off book that I made a few years ago, and put it onto the wall. The book was made up of the participant’s photographs, made on disposable cameras along with my own field notes. The only direction I gave them was to take photos of their everyday lives, no matter how boring the shot seemed. The contrast between the portraits I made in their homes and the normal snapshots of their daily routines provided a balance to the work that I was really happy with.

Thanks to Patricia Clyne-Kelly at the Clyne for generously providing the space, and to Dominic Campbell, Bealtaine’s artistic director, for wanting the show to happen.

 

Leave a Reply

